Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma

These cancers are any of a large group of cancers of the white blood cells. Non-Hodgkin lymphomas can occur at any age and are often marked by lymph nodes that are larger than normal, fever, and weight loss. There are many different types of non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma, all of which can be divided into two types: aggressive and indolent, and they can be formed from either B-cells or T-cells. B-cell non-Hodgkin’s lymphomas include Burkitt lymphoma, chronic lymphocytic leukemia/small lymphocytic lymphoma (CLL/SLL), diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, follicular lymphoma, immunoblastic large cell lymphoma, precursor B-lymphoblastic lymphoma, and mantle cell lymphoma. T-cell non-Hodgkin’s lymphomas include mycosis fungoides, anaplastic large cell lymphoma, and precursor T-lymphoblastic lymphoma. Lymphomas that occur after bone marrow or stem cell transplantation are usually B-cell non-Hodgkin lymphomas.

Estimated new cases and deaths from non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma in the United States in 2015:

  • New cases: 71,850
  • Deaths: 19,790


  • Painless swelling in the lymph nodes in the neck, underarm, groin, or stomach
  • Fever for no known reason
  • Drenching night sweats
  • Feeling very tired
  • Weight loss for no known reason
  • Skin rash or itchy skin
  • Pain in the chest, abdomen, or bones for no known reason


Different treatments are available for patients with non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma, including clinical trials of new treatments for patients with cancer.

For pregnant women with non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma, treatment is chosen carefully to protect the fetus. Treatment decisions are based on the mother’s wishes, the stage of the non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma, and the age of the fetus. The treatment plan may change as the symptoms, cancer, and pregnancy change. Choosing the most appropriate cancer treatment is a decision that ideally involves the patient, family, and health care team.

For More Information visit’s Non-Hodgkin’s page.