Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma (NHL)

These cancers are any of a large group of cancers of the white blood cells. Non-Hodgkin lymphomas can occur at any age and are often marked by lymph nodes that are larger than normal, fever and weight loss. There are many different types of Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma, all of which can be divided into two types: aggressive and indolent, and they can be formed from either B-cells or T-cells. B-cell Non-Hodgkin lymphomas include Burkitt lymphoma, chronic lymphocytic leukemia/small lymphocytic lymphoma (CLL/SLL), diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, follicular lymphoma, immunoblastic large cell lymphoma, precursor B-lymphoblastic lymphoma, and mantle cell lymphoma. T-cell Non-Hodgkin lymphomas include mycosis fungoides, anaplastic large cell lymphoma and precursor T-lymphoblastic lymphoma. Lymphomas that occur after bone marrow or stem cell transplantation are usually B-cell Non-Hodgkin lymphomas.


  • Painless swelling in the lymph nodes in the neck, underarm, groin or stomach
  • Fever for no known reason
  • Drenching night sweats
  • Feeling very tired
  • Weight loss for no known reason
  • Skin rash or itchy skin
  • Pain in the chest, abdomen or bones for no known reason


Different treatments are available for patients with Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma, including clinical trials of new treatments for patients with cancer.

For pregnant women with Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma, treatment is chosen carefully to protect the fetus. Treatment decisions are based on the mother’s wishes, the stage of the Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma and the age of the fetus. The treatment plan may change as the symptoms, cancer and pregnancy change. Choosing the most appropriate cancer treatment is a decision that ideally involves the patient, family and health care team.

For More Information: